Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) Resources and Nursing

This guide contains EBP Resources from A.R. Dykes Library and open-sourced resources.

Searching EBP

CINAHL's Evidence Based Care Sheets are quick overviews on treatment plans for various conditions. These are found at the top of CINAHL webpages.

Divided into two parts: What We Know & What We Can Do. Includes Coding Matrix and Reference List.

CINAHL's Evidence Based Care Sheets screenshot

Searching CINAHL

DO ONE OR MORE OF THE FOLLOWING, AS APPROPRIATE (shown in screenshots above)

Check the box beside Evidence-Based Practice.
Select a Special Interest.
Select a Publication Type of Systematic Review, Meta-Analysis, Meta-Synthesis, Practice Guidelines, or Randomized Controlled Trials.

Databases: Finding Clinical Evidence

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete is the worlds most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,400 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive evidence-based clinical information resource available to clinicians online. It is intended to give clinicians the concise, practical answers at the point of care.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine that supports clinical decisions by making it easier to find and apply relevant knowledge. ClinicalKey drives better care by delivering fast, concise answers when every second counts, and deep access to evidence whenever, wherever you need it.
- To download eBook chapters, you must first register for a personal account on ClinicalKey. ClinicalKey does not provide PDFs for Book titles with the specialty designation of "medical education."
Embase (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Biomedical database with expanded coverage on drugs, pharmacology and medical devices. Includes abstracts from 7,000+ conferences and 2,900+ journals not covered by MEDLINE.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Premier health sciences database of peer-reviewed biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Contains more than 30 million citations with author abstracts for 80%. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Use this non-proxied link to access your PubMed MyNCBI Account:
PubMed MyNCBI Login

Clinical Reference Tools
A KUMC guide to clinical reference tools.