Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) Resources and Nursing
This guide contains EBP Resources from A.R. Dykes Library and open-sourced resources.
Health Sciences Librarian, School of Nursing
Casey Phillips, MLIS, AHIP
she/her
Contact:
A.R. Dykes Library
2100 W 39th Street
Kansas City, KS 66160
2100 W 39th Street
Kansas City, KS 66160
Subjects: Intellectual Freedom, School of Nursing
Quality Improvement Basics
Quality Improvement is "a continuous and ongoing effort to achieve measurable improvements in the efficiency, effectiveness, performance, accountability, outcomes, and other indicators of quality in services or processes which achieve equity and improve the health of the community" (R. Bialek, L. M. Beitsch, A. Cofsky, et al, unpublished data, 2009).
Model for Improvement includes these questions:
- What are we trying to accomplish?
- How will we know that a change is an improvement?
- What changes can we make that will result in improvement?
and these steps:
- Defining Quality Improvement in Public HealthIncludes quote above by R. Bialek, L. M. Beitsch, A. Cofsky, et al.
- Quality improvement; part 1: introduction and overviewBy reading this article you should be able to:
• Explain the context in which quality improvement methods are being translated into healthcare
• Recognise that there are several structural frameworks for quality improvement methods
• Explain how quality improvement methods are different from clinical audit or empirical research
• Identify and overcome some frequent barriers to successful quality improvement.
Steps & Tools
- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)The AHRQ offers practical, research-based tools and other resources to help a variety of health care organizations, providers, and others make care safer in all health care settings.
- Johns Hopkins Model and ResourcesIncludes definitions, history, models, and additional resources.
- Quality Improvement Essentials ToolkitThe Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI) QI Essentials Toolkit includes the tools and templates you need to launch a successful quality improvement project and manage performance improvement. Each of the ten tools can be used with the Model for Improvement, Lean, or Six Sigma, and includes a short description, instructions, an example, and a blank template.
Tools include:
Cause and Effect Diagram (the Ishikawa or fishbone diagram - helps you analyze the root causes contributing to an outcome)
Failure Modes and Effects Analysis (a systematic, proactive method for identifying potential risks and their impact)
Run Charts (monitor performance over time)
PDSA Worksheet (Plan-Do-Study-Act rapid-cycle testing)
AND videos explaining how to perform each of these.
Quality Improvement Examples
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new windowCollection of dissertations and theses from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowCINAHL Complete is the worlds most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,400 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.
