Clinical Reference Tools
Contact a Research Librarian
A.R. Dykes Library
2100 W 39th Street,
Mail Stop 1050
Kansas City, KS 66160
Guide Overview
Clinical information needs range from locating general overviews on health topics to specific information impacting patient care.
This guide serves as a reference tool for KUMC clinicians and clinical students to quickly locate resources relevant to their evidence based practice.
Determining Information Need
Different information needs warrant different tools. Use these charts to identify what tools align with your needs
Clinical Information Needs
Clinical Data Needs
Popular Resources
Clinical Reference Databases
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowComprehensive evidence-based clinical information resource available to clinicians online. It is intended to give clinicians the concise, practical answers at the point of care.
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowProvides complete references and services for physicians, students, and health professionals who need immediate access to authoritative and current medical data. With the full text, graphics, images and illustrations of the most recent editions of world-class medical references.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowClinicalKey is a clinical search engine that supports clinical decisions by making it easier to find and apply relevant knowledge. ClinicalKey drives better care by delivering fast, concise answers when every second counts, and deep access to evidence whenever, wherever you need it.
Medical Literature Databases
Systematic Reviews and Highly Cited Works
Find Full Text
Books/Journals: Search for a book or journal or topic in the box below
Articles: Search for a DOI or PMID of an article in the box below:
Findlt! @ KUMC
If you're looking for articles in our databases you will see one of our blue and white Find It! buttons.
The buttons will take you to a page of options for obtaining article full text. You will need to authenticate using your myKUMC credentials if you are off campus.
- A-Z DatabasesAs you search our databases, look for the Find It! KU Medical Center button.
- Full Text SearchUse this page to search for full-text articles, journals or textbooks by title or citation information.
