Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) Resources and Nursing
This guide contains EBP Resources from A.R. Dykes Library and open-sourced resources.
Consumer or Patient Information
Consumer Health Information: information intended for potential users of medical and healthcare services. There is an emphasis on self-care and preventive approaches as well as information for community-wide dissemination and use.
Patient Education Information: information pertaining to the training of patients concerning their own health needs. Usually involves a specific diagnosis.
Source: Reference.MD
- Finding Good Health InformationThis guide outlines the collective wisdom of medical librarians who search the web every day to discover quality information in support of clinical and scientific decision making by doctors, scientists, and other health practitioners responsible for the nation's health.
- How To Find Reliable Health Information OnlineAvailable in Spanish. National Institute on Health's tips on finding reliable health information online.
- Immigrant Partnership and Advocacy Curricular Kit (I-PACK)A curriculum designed for medical providers and educators who wish to enhance knowledge and skills related to immigrant and refugee health.
- Medical EncyclopediaIncludes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.
- MLA's Top Health WebsitesWebsites deemed particularly useful for health consumers and patients by the Medical Library Association (MLA).
- NNLM Health Misinformation ResourcesThis guide aims to provide tools and knowledge to address health misinformation effectively.
KUMC Consumer/Patient Edcuation Databases
- Consumer Health CompleteConsumer-oriented health content designed for consumer health and patient education. It includes the Clinical reference system and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowLimit results to journal sub-type "consumer health" for consumer/patient education resources.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowClinicalKey is a clinical search engine that supports clinical decisions by making it easier to find and apply relevant knowledge. ClinicalKey drives better care by delivering fast, concise answers when every second counts, and deep access to evidence whenever, wherever you need it.
- To download eBook chapters, you must first register for a personal account on ClinicalKey. ClinicalKey does not provide PDFs for Book titles with the specialty designation of "medical education."
- Health Literacy Tool Shed This link opens in a new windowAn online database of health literacy measures. The site contains information about each measure, including their psychometric properties, based on a review of the peer-reviewed literature.
- MEDLINEPlus This link opens in a new windowA consumer-level health information database from the National Library of Medicine. MEDLINEPlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 500 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowEvidence-based medicine summaries intended to give clinicians point-of-care answers. Includes patient education handouts.
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowProvides complete references and services for physicians, students, and health professionals who need immediate access to authoritative and current medical data. With the full text, graphics, images and illustrations of the most recent editions of world-class medical references.
- Nutrition Care Manual This link opens in a new windowAn Internet-based diet manual and professional practice manual for registered dietitian nutritionists; nutrition and dietetics technicians, registered; and allied health professionals. NCM gives you online access to evidence- and knowledge-based nutrition information that keeps you current and compliant. There is a seat limit on this resource, please always click Log Out when done using the manual
Find Full Text
Books/Journals: Search for a book or journal or topic in the box below
Articles: Search for a DOI or PMID of an article in the box below:
