Clerkship Information Resources

Reference and information resources for different clerkship programs in the School of Medicine.

Key Surgery Resources

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Premier health sciences database of peer-reviewed biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Contains more than 30 million citations with author abstracts for 80%. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

PubMed Clinical Queries
This tool uses predefined filters to help you quickly refine PubMed searches on clinical or disease-specific topics. To use this tool, enter your search terms in the search bar and select filters before searching.

Embase (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Biomedical database with expanded coverage on drugs, pharmacology and medical devices. Includes abstracts from 7,000+ conferences and 2,900+ journals not covered by MEDLINE.

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine that supports clinical decisions by making it easier to find and apply relevant knowledge. ClinicalKey drives better care by delivering fast, concise answers when every second counts, and deep access to evidence whenever, wherever you need it.
- To download eBook chapters, you must first register for a personal account on ClinicalKey. ClinicalKey does not provide PDFs for Book titles with the specialty designation of "medical education."
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive evidence-based clinical information resource available to clinicians online. It is intended to give clinicians the concise, practical answers at the point of care.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Provides complete references and services for physicians, students, and health professionals who need immediate access to authoritative and current medical data. With the full text, graphics, images and illustrations of the most recent editions of world-class medical references.
Micromedex (available only on KUMC campus) This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based resources used by clinicians to inform and educate care decisions with the goal to meaningfully improve patient outcomes.

ClinicalKey - Patient Education - Surgery
AccessMedicine - Patient Education
Provides patient education handouts for adult and pediatric patients, and for medication.
UpToDate - Patient Education
Provides both short overviews and longer, more detailed reviews of patient education health topics
AccessMedicine Infographics
Including infographics in cardiology, dermatology, emergency medicine, endocrinology, GI/hepatology, hematology/oncology, infectious diseases, musculoskeletal systems, nephrology, neurology, obstetrics/gynecology, pediatrics, psychiatry, pulmonology, rheumatology, and urology

Infographic Guide to ENT Surgery - AccessMedicine
Contains infographics on Thyroidectomy for Graves' Disease, Tonsillectomy, and Tracheotomy
Infographic Guide to General Surgery - AccessMedicine
Contains infographics on Adrenalectomy, Appendectomy, Cholecystectomy, Direct and Indirect Hernia Repair, Laparoscopy Basics, Laparotomy, Liver Lobectomy, Pancreaticoduodenectomy, Perforated Duodenal Ulcer, Principles of Suturing, Roux-en-Y Gastric Bypass, and Ventral Hernia Repair
Infographic Guide to Neurosurgery - AccessMedicine
Contains infographics on Intracerebral Hemorrhages, Meningioma, and Pituitary Adenoma
Infographic Guide to Orthopedic Surgery - AccessMedicine
Contains infographics on ACL Tear and Repair, Compartment Syndrome, Necrotizing Fasciitis, Pelvic Fractures, and Principles of Amputation
Infographic Guide to Pediatric Surgery - AccessMedicine
Contains infographics on Anorectal Malformation (ARM), Aortic Coarctation, Atrial Septal Defect, Biliary Atresia, Congenital Diaphragmatic Hernia (CDH), Esophageal Atresia (EA), Tracheoesophageal Fistula (TEF), Gastroschisis, Meckel's Diverticulum, Necrotizing Enterocolitis (NEC), and Omphalocele
Infographic Guide to Plastic Surgery - AccessMedicine
Contains infographics on Skin Cancer Surgery and Total Mastectomy
Infographic Guide to Vascular Surgery - AccessMedicine
Contains infographics for Aortofemoral Bypass and Femorofemoral Bypass

Books/Journals: Search for a book or journal or topic in the box below

Articles: Search for a DOI or PMID of an article in the box below: