My NCBI

Search filters in NCBI databases (such as PubMed) may be used to narrow the number of search results of a query based on specific criteria (ex. date of publication). NCBI databases have many of these search filters built in that may be used without a My NCBI account.

Custom search filters in My NCBI can be advantageous if there is particular filter (ex. an age filter with specific keywords) that a user wants to repeatedly reuse but that NCBI doesn't make available by default. 

Each My NCBI account is limited to 5 custom filters in NCBI databases except for PubMed which has a 15 custom filter limit.

Database filters may be accessed and viewed from the Filters portlet on a My NCBI account's dashboard.

Filters may be viewed per database in the dashboard by selecting the desired database from the picker. Filters may also be activated or deactivated from the portlet.

To create a custom filter or add a built-in filter to a database, click on "Manage Filters" at the bottom of the Filters portlet in the My NCBI dashboard. This will navigate to the filters management page.

Filters may be created and managed from one database to another.

Note: the "Active" box must be checked beside a filter for it to be activated and to appear on the Filters portlet.

To create a new custom filter, click on the blue "Create custom filter" button.

Add the query (i.e. search) that should be applied as a filter to another search and save.

To add a built-in filter, select the desired filter in the menu on the right.

After activation, these filters will appear in the left hand menu of the database's search interface

To manage an individual filter, click on the gear icon to the right of the filter in the Filters portlet

To manage, add, or remove multiple filters, click on the "Manage Filters" link at the bottom of the portlet and utilize the Filters management screen.