My NCBI

Collections are groups of citations from My NCBI databases that can be manually added, arranged, and shared by a user in the My NCBI account. Unlike My Bibliography, Collections are intended as groups of citations unaffiliated with the owner of the My NCBI account. There are no limits to the number of Collections allowed in a single My NCBI account.

Citations may be added to a Collection in applicable NCBI databases using the "Send to" menu. The menu's location may change if the database still utilizes the classic NCBI interface.

An individual citation may also be added to a Collection from within that citation's record.

The Favorites collection is a permanent collection group within a My NCBI account's other collections. Citations may be added to Favorites from either the search results menu or within an individual article record.

• To add one or multiple citations to Favorites on a search results page, click "Send to" option above the search results, then select "Add to an existing collection" and choose "Favorites."
• To add an individual citation to Favorites, in that citation's record click on either the "Send to" option above the article's record then "Collections" or the "Collections" button on the right side of the record page. For either, select "Favorites"

A clipboard is a piece of thin material such as light wood, plastic, or aluminum attached to a metal hinge that can secure (i.e. clip) items such as pieces of paper to the board with its tension.

Digital clipboards function the same way in essence: a piece of information is quickly attached to a temporary space where it can be acted on. The Clipboard feature in PubMed (as well as other databases) functions in this manner.

To save a citation to the Clipboard in PubMed, select the citation, click on "Send To" above the search results, and select "Clipboard"

This will add the citation and navigate to the Clipboard interface. Items in the Clipboard interface may then be managed or shared individually or as a group. 

Note: citations will only remain in the Clipboard for 8 hours following inactivity.

To navigate back to the Clipboard, click on the access options on the home page of PubMed or above the search results in the interface. This access option will only appear when at least one item is within the Clipboard.

Collections may be view from the Collections portlet in the My NCBI dashboard.