Gray (Grey) Literature

Created for researchers - explains how to find grey literature resources.

Clinical Trials and Registered Research

A clinical study involves research using human volunteers (also called participants) that is intended to add to medical knowledge. There are two main types of clinical studies: clinical trials (also called interventional studies) and observational studies (ClinicalTrials.gov).

ClinicalTrials.gov
Provides information on U.S. government & privately funded clinical trials, including trials no longer recruiting patients. Basics about clinical trials and a glossary of common site terms detailed here, as well as other sites about clinical studies.
E.U. Clinical Trials Register
Information about clinical trials in the E.U. from the confidential, E.U. clinical trial database.
GSK Clinical Study Register
Provides data from clinical studies sponsored by Glaxo-Smith-Kline.
IRSCTN Registry - BioMed Central Current Controlled Trials
Search across multiple trial registers. It aims to locate, match, and share all publicly accessible data and documents, on all trails conducted, on all medicines and other treatments, globally.
WHO International Clinical Trials Registry Platform
The Clinical Trials Search Portal provides access to a central database containing the trial registration data sets provided by the registries listed on the right. It also provides links to the full original records.

Regulatory Data

Drugs@FDA
Search by drug name, active ingredient, or application number.
510(k) Premarket Notification
Search for FDA medical device approval notifications.
FDA Advisory Committees
Searchable database of committees and meeting materials. Search using the red Search Advisory Committees search box in the middle of the page.
FDA MedWatch
Important information for clinical safety information and reports of serious problems with human medical products.

A.R. Dykes Library

Gray (Grey) Literature

Clinical Trials and Registered Research

Regulatory Data