Gray (Grey) Literature

AHRQ provides data on the cost and use of health care, scientific information on health care and results of medical treatments, as well as data on special needs of priority populations.

BMC Proceedings is an online, open access journal publishing proceedings of conferences across all scientific and clinical disciplines, including peer-reviewed full-length articles, collections of abstracts and meeting reports.

The Health and Medicine Division (HMD) of the National Academies (formerly Institute of Medicine, IOM) publish reports that provide objective and straightforward advice to decision makers and the public. This site includes reports published after 1998.

HSRProj: Health Services Research Projects in progress provides access to information about current research-in-progress before results are available in published form. Contains over 15,000 active reports.

HSRR: Health Services/Sciences Research Resources is a searchable database of information about research datasets and instruments/indices employed in Health Services Research, and the Behavioral and Social Sciences.

HSRIC: Health Services Research Information Central is a research portal of health services research resources providing numerous Internet links to data, funding announcements, reports, podcasts, discussion groups, and more.

PHPartners: Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce is a collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations and health sciences libraries whose mission is helping the public health workforce find and use information effectively to improve and protect the public's health. The site includes public health topics from bioterrorism to obesity and nutrition along with public health data and statistics, grants and funding announcements, legislative & policy links, and conferences and meetings focusing on public health.

The NTIS provides access to the results of both US and non-US government-sponsored research and can provide the full text of the technical report for most of the results retrieved. NTIS is free of charge on the Internet and goes back to 1964.

A list of health information organizations curated by MedlinePlus, including government agencies, foundations, professional societies, research associations, and disease support groups.

CDC Stacks is a free, digital archive of scientific research and literature produced by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). This online archive is composed of curated collections tailored for public health research needs.

University of York's CRD provides research-based information about the effects of health and social care interventions via CRD databases and undertake systematic reviews evaluating the research evidence on health and public health questions of national and international importance.

The NTRS provides access to NASA's current and historical technical literature and engineering results. Over 500,000 aerospace-related citations, over 200,000 full-text online documents and over 500,000 images and videos are available.

The NCHS' website is a rich source of information about America's health. The site provides a wide range of data from birth/death records, medical records, interview surveys to direct physical exams and laboratory testing.

Grey Literature resources are cataloged and indexed using MeSH. The database allows full text keyword searching as well as subject searching and serves as an archive for the Reports.

OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records representing open access resources that was built by harvesting from open access collections worldwide using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH). OAIster includes more than 25 million records representing digital resources from more that 1,100 contributors.

System for Information on Grey Literature in Europe, is your open access to 700,000 bibliographical references of grey literature (paper) produced in Europe and allows you to export records and locate the documents.

From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the Public Health Image Library (PHIL) provides access to photographs, illustrations and multimedia files relevant to public health and health care.

Science.gov searches over 55 databases and over 2,100 selected websites from 13 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. Science.gov is governed by the interagency Science.gov Alliance.

Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Includes images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.

FDA for Science & Research provides access to clinical trials, product development, and R&D.

Search a half-century of U.S. international aid records. Use advanced search to narrow your results.

Use advanced search to improve precision. You can also use Google Advanced Search to search a specific web site (bottom of advanced search page). Google is a good way search for conference proceedings and meetings, ex.: concussions conferences.