A.R. Dykes Library Blog - Research Guides at University of Kansas Medical Center

Greetings Bibliophile!

Now that I have your attention, I must ask - did you know we have an EPIC reading list available to us via our School of Medicine Faculty Affairs & Development office? Newly promoted/tenured faculty here at KUMC contribute to it every year for our reading pleasure. I KNOW! Say less, right?? I'm going to give it to you, just hold onto your lanyards for a sec! A little backstory first (from SOM), if you didn't already know:

Being promoted is one of the most significant events in the life of a faculty member. KUMC is proud of these achievements and is grateful for the hard work and dedication of all honorees.
To recognize the career achievements of the School of Medicine promoted faculty, a digital Promotion Recognition Bookplate Program was initiated by the School of Medicine’s office of Faculty Affairs and Development (FAD) and the A.R. Dykes Library. Book selections are chosen by the promoted faculty member along with a brief personal statement that describes the significance of the book and how it has affected their personal and/or professional life. All selections and statements can be found on the library website which will provide a lasting means of recognition of the outstanding accomplishments of the School of Medicine faculty. (not all promoted faculty chose to participate)

OK, so we had a little to do with the list - and we’re so proud to support our faculty here at KUMC by organizing the list each year. Plus, we get a first peek at all the books that have inspired and motivated the faculty in our community.

So, as fellow readers, we hope you enjoy this spotlight on our SOM promoted faculty, and the books that have sparked so many journeys in healthcare and research in our community. Enjoy!

2024 Book list:

https://guides.library.kumc.edu/c.php?g=1134121&p=10496311

Main site with all years:

https://guides.library.kumc.edu/bookplate

Recent Posts

Resources for overcoming stigma regarding Mental Illness

Mental illness is common in America. In 2022, there were 59,300,000 Americans (23.1% of the adult population) with any type of mental illness. Prevalence rates vary a bit by ethnicity, age and gender, but the total number clearly represents a wide swath of Americans. While the prevalence of serious mental illness is less, at 6% of the population, getting care for any type of mental health condition can improve an individual’s quality of life. However, only about half of people with a mental illness receive treatment.The discrepancy between the number diagnosed and the number getting treatment can, in part, be attributed to the stigma attached to mental illness. The public, self- and structural stigma attached to people with mental illness often results in lack of treatment and a variety of other negative outcomes:It can lessen self-esteem, causing people to believe that they can't succeed or make their life betterIt may make it difficult for family, friends, co-workers or others to understand the conditionIt can be harder for people to find jobs, find housing, go to school or do social activitiesIt can lead to bullying, physical violence or harassmentHealth insurance may not cover treatment for mental health conditions or may only partly cover it (From Mental health: Overcoming the stigma of mental illness)The National Alliance on Mental Illness has an article discussing nine ways to fight mental health stigma. The nine methods mentioned in the article are below, with added links to specific, relevant resources that will further enhance your understanding.Talk Openly About Mental Health – “Supporting a Loved One Dealing with Mental and/of Substance Use Disorders: Starting the Conversation”Educate Yourself and Others – a School of Nursing team has put together a Mental Health Toolkit with a wide array of high quality information sources and tools to help you understand mental health.Be Conscious of Language“Reframing Language: Why Changing Our Thinking, Our Actions and Our Language Matters”“Your Language Matters”Encourage Equality Between Physical and Mental Illness – “Parity of esteem: Addressing the inequalities between mental and physical healthcare” Show Compassion for Those with Mental Illness – “Tips For How to Help a Person with Mental Illness”Choose Empowerment Over Shame – “On the Self-Stigma of Mental Illness: Stages, Disclosure, and Strategies for Change”Be Honest About Treatment – “Never Be Ashamed of Seeking Help”Let the Media Know When They’re Being Stigmatizing – “Is mental health still misconstrued on screen?”Don’t Harbor Self-Stigma – “You are NOT Alone”We hope these resources will ease your approach in talking with someone in your life about your mental health or who may be suffering from mental illness.If you or someone you know is considering suicide, and needs help, call the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline at 1-800-273-8255 or text 988....

Library Research Updates - What's New in Medical Subject Headings?

Recently, we are observing an exponential growth in the production of scientific literature. While this has benefited us gaining new knowledge in education and healthcare, it also makes it difficult for us to locate the best information on a topic. When conducting literature searches for finding scientific studies, using National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) thesaurus is crucial. Searching with MeSH could add value to your literature searching skills and increase precision to the search results.What is MeSH? MeSH are the official vocabulary that describe the subject content of an article in Medline. It branches out from broader to narrower terms that are arranged in a hierarchical order. There could be typically 5-12 vocabularies assigned to articles that are indexed in PubMed (Medline).Where can you find MeSH?On the Entrez MeSH database; it is also available at the bottom of PubMed homepage that allows to build searches.Ovid Medline database, Clinical Trials.gov, and Cochrane libraryDirectly from NLM’s standalone MeSH Browser to find the vocabularies.What’s new about MeSH?NLM ensures accuracy of MeSH with annual revisions and updates. In 2025, there are interesting expansions, additions, and deletions that might help you to improve the research. Below are some examplesMeSH Tutorials Introduction to MeSHFinding keywords for publications Have a suggestion to improve the subject headings and/or vocabularies? Write to NLM help desk. Want to discuss and learn more? Connect with one of the research librarians ...

IMLS Benefits to Kansas and KUMC

The Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) is the sole source of federal funding for public and state libraries such as the State of Kansas Library and provides funding for resources, computer/wi-fi accessibility, and interlibrary loan services that all Kansans may access free of charge. For a fact sheet on how the IMLS funding benefits Kansas, click here.Through its IMLS funding the State of Kansas Library provides all KUMC library users access to a number of EBSCO research databases, including:Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window GreenFILE This link opens in a new windo Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition The elimination of the IMLS would remove the financial support provided to the State of Kansas that mitigates the cost of research databases, and could result in the removal of continued free access to these databases for all Kansans and KUMC library users. For more information on the IMLS and its positive impacts, click this link to learn more....

Community Resources to Support Survivors of Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault

April is Sexual Assault Awareness Month. In observation, KUMC is holding several events throughout the month. After attending one of these events, the library has added two of the local organizations to an online resource guide that includes social and public services. These two organizations that support those affected by domestic violence and/or sexual assault are MOCSA (Metropolitan Organization Countering Sexual Assault) and Rose Brooks. You can find out more of the great work they do by continuing to their websites. On the resource guide, you can find a PDF titled “Community Resources Guide”, curated by library specialists, that contains a broad range of community resources in the Kansas City area.Doing a simple internet search on domestic violence, sexual assault, or virtually any other topic can result in an overabundance of results, which can be very overwhelming. KUMC’s library guides exist to help users focus on trusted websites, data, and resources that will help them in their research and educational endeavors, and KUMC librarians spend a good deal of time updating an curating reliable information and resources. So, next time you are inundated by a large number of so-so search results or want to save some time by getting directly to quality resources, check the library guides developed by your librarians or reach out to us by text, chat, or email!...

Attention KUMC Readers!

Leave a comment

*Attention KUMC Readers!*

Leave a comment

Attention KUMC Readers!