Research Writing Toolkit

Department of Surgery, Grant Rounds, "Identifying and Applying for Non-Federal Funding" on 10-07-2021

This Grant Rounds identifies six different non-federal funding mechanisms, explains how to use the PIVOT-PR funding database to search for relevant grant opportunities, and provides writing tips and tricks for the non-federal application.

View the Recording Here: https://youtu.be/R0R0OgX7DzU 

Department of Surgery, Grant Rounds, "Writing an NIH Research Proposal" on 04-14-2021

This Grant Rounds identifies different NIH Institutes and grant funding mechanisms, outlines the different sections of an NIH grant application, explains how the peer-review process works for grant applications and provides writing tips and tricks for the application.

View the Recording Here: https://youtu.be/MQsbN3BpKLg

Surgical Outcomes Club/JAMA Surgery Health Services Research Methodology Series

1. Ghaferi AA, Haider AH, Kibbe MR. Maximizing the Impact of Surgical Health Services Research - The Methodology Toolbox.  JAMA Surgery. 2020, 155(3):190-191
2. Schwarze ML, Kaji AH, Ghaferi AA. Practical Guide to Qualitative Analysis Data. JAMA Surgery. 2020; 155(3):252-253.
3. Dossett LA, Kaji AH, Dimick JB. Practical Guide to Mixed Methods. JAMA Surgery. 2020; Epub ahead of print. 
4. Arya S, Schwartz TA, Ghaferi AA. Practical Guide to Meta-analysis. JAMA Surgery. 2020; Epub ahead of print. 
5. Brooke BS, Kaji AH, Itani KM. Practical Guide to Cost-effectiveness Analysis. JAMA Surgery. 2020; 155(3):250-251.
6. Merkow RP, Schwartz TA, Nathens AB. Practical Guide to Comparative Effectiveness Research Using Observational Data. JAMA Surgery. Epub ahead of print. 
7. Scott JW, Schwartz TA, Dimick J. Practical Guide to Health Policy Evaluation using Observational Data. JAMA Surgery. 2020; Epub ahead of print. 
8. Davidson GH, Haukoos JS, Feldman LS. Practical Guide to Assessment of Patient-Reported Outcomes. JAMA Surgery. 2020; Epub ahead of print. 
9. Neuman HB, Kaji AH, Haut ER. Practical Guide to Implementation Science. JAMA Surgery. 2020; Epub ahead of print. 
10. Brasel K, Haider A, Haukoos J. Practical Guide to Survey Research. JAMA Surgery. 2020; Epub ahead of print. 
11. Segev DL, Haukoos JS, Pawlik TM. Practical Guide to Decision Analysis. JAMA Surgery. 2020; Epub ahead of print. 

Hosting Research Paper Competitions

The Resident and Associate Society of the American College of Surgeons (RAS-ACS) has developed this interview series to spotlight engagement activities from ACS chapters. In this interview Kaitlin Ritter, MD, Kelsey Larson, MD, FACS, and Eric Campion, MD, FACS, discuss hosting paper competitions. The goal of the interview is to help promote activities that chapters have developed and share them between chapters of all sizes and geographic locations.

View the Recording Here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dOdTBpHc5Vg 

Grant Writing Recorded Presentations

• Fundamentals of the NIH Grant Process and Need to Know Resources: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-U72FWz2YCg (Every successful journey starts with a good foundation. If you are new to working with NIH, this video will answer key questions. Where do I start? Where’s the funding? Where do I turn when I need help or advice? What opportunities are available and how can I find them? 34:06 minutes)

• Grant writing for Success: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=70sAOC_9CuM (from the planning phase to the apply phase – a great overview with many helpful tips – 24:44 minutes)

• Grant writing for success: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4TOMbEjL2wA (46:15 minutes – has sign language interpretation and subtitles)

• Grant Writing for Success NIH: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EX4gO69AGo0 (1:01:59 – covers steps involved, fundamentals of strong writing, and career development vs. research awards)

• Grant Writing 101: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IUIAYVgGfZA  ( covers 2 parts: understanding the process and writing your application; 2:56:55 minutes)

• How to write an NIH aims page: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mYl_q57STkw (16:36 minutes)

• How to write an NIH biosketch: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v9FtpBZOPbU (20 minutes)

• Best Practices for Junior Investigators When Writing an NIH Research Grant Application: National Research Mentoring Network https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KLm8IbPHYo4 (1:56:04 minutes)

• Writing an effective NIH K application: https://nexus.od.nih.gov/all/2021/01/28/writing-an-effective-k-application-a-video-guide/ (helpful info on which institutes Ks, etc.; 25:18 minutes)

• Writing the NIH R01 research grant: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Pdegl9uZ38 (1:40:47 minutes)

• Eight Steps to Submitting an NIH Grant Application Using ASSIST: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tspsdBgFofg (10:27 minutes; this one is hard to watch on high speed)

• Want to sign up for a list serve where the NIH sends you all open funding opportunities? Go to https://grants.nih.gov/grants/guide/listserv.htm and sign up for the NIH GUIDE list serve.

Human Subjects Research at NIH

• https://grants.nih.gov/policy/humansubjects.htm - Human subjects research homepage at NIH; helpful overview page with lots of resources

• https://www.hhs.gov/ohrp/index.html - Office for Human Research Protections at NIH; OHRP provides clarification and guidance, develops educational programs and materials, maintains regulatory oversight, and provides advice on ethical and regulatory issues in biomedical and behavioral research; helpful overview page with lots of resources.

• Two talks on research with prisoners: https://www.hhs.gov/ohrp/education-and-outreach/online-education/mini-tutorials/index.html

• Supporting Ethical Research Involving American Indian/Alaska Native (AI/AN) Populations: https://videocast.nih.gov/watch=42314 (2 hours)

• An Overview of NIH Policies on Human Subjects Research: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jPWxPgR-vww (has four objectives: 1. Identify NIH policies pertaining to research involving human subjects research; 2. Determine when research is a clinical trial; 3. considerations with submitting an NIH application involving human research; 4. Identify NIH resources for investigators conducting research involving human subjects; 30:44 minutes)

Talks related to Online NIH Platforms

• Human Subjects System Overview: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8s7xRT9mW10 (In 2018, NIH launched a new electronic system to manage human subjects and clinical trials information. This Human Subjects System replaces the Inclusion Management System (IMS) and will be used by grant applicants, recipients and NIH staff. This short video provides an overview of its functions and features. 7:30 minutes)

• How to Edit, View & Submit Human Subjects Studies in era commons/ASSIST: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8E5RX0HLI0M (A principal investigator or signing official may need to edit an existing human subjects study record. This tutorial demonstrates the steps to access and edit a human subjects study record. 6:39 minutes)

• PHS Human Subjects and Clinical Trials Information Form Walk-through: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FNgOHqmk0rY (This video walks you through the PHS Human Subjects and Clinical Trials Information Form used to collect detailed study-level information for the protocols included in NIH grant applications. Covers delayed onset vs. delayed start as well. 6:08 minutes)

• Entering Inclusion Data Using the Participant Level Data Template: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lHYrdlPfKVo (2:38 minutes)

• How to Address Errors When Using the Participant Level Data Template: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yOFa40XhcKs (This video tutorial demonstrates how to address errors when uploading inclusion data using the Participant Level Data Template in the Human Subjects System (HSS). 4:46 minutes)