Nursing Research Guide
CINAHL Database & Tips for Searching
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowBroad selection of nursing and allied health journal articles and health care content.
Key Features: links to full text if available, email alerts available.
Searching CINAHL for Qualitative Research
You can go to CINAHL to search for Qualitative Research. One of the things you can do is to add the following concepts to your search:
(MH "Qualitative Studies+") OR (MH "Qualitative Studies+") OR (MM "Focus Groups") OR (MM "Interviews+") OR (MM "Narratives+") OR “focus groups” OR interviews)
PubMed Database & Tips for Searching
- PubMed Quick Start TipsTips and short videos helping you to search in PubMed
- PubMed for Nurses (EBP) CourseA quick course focused on Evidence Based Practice (EBP) using PubMed.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowSearch-able medical literature database covering selected international biomedical journals.
Key Features: links to online full-text, clinical queries, email alerts are available.
Searching PubMed for Qualitative Research
You can go to PubMed to search for Qualitative Research. One of the things you can do is to add the following concepts to you search:
"Qualitative Research"[Mesh] OR "Focus Groups"[Mesh] OR "Interviews as Topic"[Mesh] OR interviews OR “focus groups”
Keep Up-To-Date
Did you know that PubMed, CINAHL and several other databases allow you to create alerts for your specific searches? Using Alerts is an excellent way to stay up-to-date as you conduct research or practice health care. Tune in and stay a step ahead!
Other Databases of Interest
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowCompiled by the American Psychological Association - contains summaries of journal literature, dissertations and technical reports in psychology and related disciplines.
Key Features: create an account, email alerts available. - Web of Science This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary index of bibliographic information. Search for an article title in this database to see a list of all the newer articles that cite the article or all the older articles used as references.
- Global Health (including Archive) This link opens in a new windowA public health database with emphasis on international health, non-communicable diseases, nutrition, food safety, hygiene and more.
- Embase (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowBiomedical database with expanded coverage on drugs, pharmacology and medical devices. Includes abstracts from 7,000+ conferences and 2,900+ journals not covered by MEDLINE.
