Publishing Research

Building your academic profile online can help demonstrate your authority, expertise and research interests and provide greater visibility for your publications.

Google Scholar Citations Profile

• Publicly display your scholarly works - more visibility and greater discovery
• Includes all publications types: articles, conference presentations, slide shows, data
• Allows manual editing
• Includes citation alerts
• Tracks citation metrics and altmetrics
• Includes h-index
• Limitation: more difficult to identify author names and only your publications

Instructions available at  Google Scholar Citations Help.

    My Bibliography in PubMed

• Create a publicly accessible list of publications and scholarly work
• Includes all types of publications: journal articles, books/chapters, patents, presentations and meetings
• Add articles directly from PubMed search or through manual edit
• Manage through a "MyNCBI" account
• Can be managed by a delegate
• Link to the My Bibliography display from a web page or send a direct URL to colleagues for viewing
• Can also be linked to the "contribution to science" section of SciENcv which can be used to create an NIH BioSketch

View the My Bibliography YouTube tutorial or find additional instructions in the My Bibliography Guide which also contains information on using My Bibliography with eRA Commons and the NIH Compliance Policy.

SciENcv: Science Experts Network Curriculum Vitae

• My NCBI application assists in creating a public online professional profile
• Includes education, employment, research activities, publications, honors, research grants, etc.
• Users can create multiple profiles in official NIH and NSF biosketch formats for grant submissions
• Includes your ORCID iD

View the SciENcv YouTube tutorial for setup information

.

ResearchGate

• Can create a full public profile including education, employment, research topics, teaching experience, awards and honors, etc.
• Allows you to upload and share your publications (only if you have copyright permission)
• Network and collaborate with colleagues
• Provides statistics for number of views, downloads, and citations to publications
• Easy to create and update profile 

Author ID systems are unique identifiers for scholars due to the problems of searching for specific author names, including:

• Common researcher names
• Name changes
• Cultural differences in name order
• Inconsistent use of middle initials
• Names containing hypens, apostrophes, and prefixes

By registering for a unique identifier, you can connect all types of your scholarly output and ensure appropriate attribution.

Two commonly used researcher identification systems are ORCID and the Web of Science ResearcherID.  

ORCID (Open Researcher and Contributor ID)

• Is a persistent digital identifier for researchers
• Can be used solely as a unique author ID
• If desired, you can create a full ORCID profile of scholarly output: publications, conference presentations, data, etc.
• Profile can be linked to from other sites, including ResearcherID
• ORCID iD can be added to manuscript submissions and grant applications

Adding your ORCID iD to all of your scholarly work, will not only connect it to one author and ensure correct attribution, it will also be more easily discoverable by others.

We recommend you register for an ORCID identifier regardless if you create a full ORCID profile.

ResearcherID (Web of Science)

• Author ID system in Web of Science database
• Allows you to create a brief personal profile and add publications indexed in Web of Science (includes Medline and most of PubMed)
• Upload publications not indexed in Web of Science via an EndNote or RIS file
• Can be viewed by other researchers within the Web of Science database or from a supplied direct URL
• Can be updated by an authorized administrator
• Can be linked with ORCID and data (publications) can be share between the two systems

Register for a ResearcherID here.

Then add items to your ResearcherID Publications List:

• Search yourself as an author (Help for author searching in Web of Science)
• Select the record(s) that you want to include in your publication list
• Select the Save to ResearcherID - I Wrote These Publications option from the drop-down menu
• Select the record content, such as Full Record, from the drop-down menu
• Click Send

View the tutorial for Creating a ResearcherID