Dykes Library Classes and Workshops

What is Trending in Research

Want to know about what is trending in research? This is a good class for you!

• Learn what is new in research
• Discover new apps, new tools, and new technologies that are relevant to research in the health sciences

Date: Thursday, April 29th, 2021

Time: 12pm-1pm

Virtually via zoom

Go here to Register.

Impact Factor and Scholarly Communication

This class will cover:

• Expand your reach and communicate your impact with easy to use digital tools 
• The internet has opened a new world of scholarly communications, with preprint servers, permanent identifiers, altmetrics, and social media.  
• Sign up for an ORCiD and Google Scholar Profile (both at no cost) 
• Explore the history and future of research impact measurement  

Date: Thursday, April 22nd, 2021

Time: 12pm-1pm

Virtually via zoom

Go here to Register.

Useful tools for researchers in Web of Science

Web of Science Core collection is database premier resource on scientific and scholarly communication. The session will introduce:

• Searching Web of Science

• Cited reference search
• Analyzing searches
• Creating citation reports
• Saving search history

Date: Thursday, April 15th, 2021

Time: 12pm-1pm

Virtually via zoom

Go here to Register.

Empowering your academic research with Endnote 20

The session provides an overview of the new features of EndNote 20 to empower your research and manuscript preparation. The session will demonstrate the following in the newly redesigned interface including

• Create an EndNote Library 

• Export references to EndNote
• Organize references in groups 

• Citing sources in your manuscript

Date: Thursday, April 8th, 2021

Time: 12pm-1pm

Virtually via zoom

Go here to Register.

Systematic Reviews, Scoping Reviews, and other Reviews: What's best for you?

• Learn how to distinguish between different literature review types (Systematic Reviews, Scoping Reviews, Meta-Analysis, and a Basic Lit Review)
• Understand how to decide which is the best one for your topic and area of research

Date: Thursday, March 18th, 2021

Time: 12pm-1pm

Virtually via zoom

Go here to Register.

Searching PubMed in its new Interface

• Conducting a search advanced search builder
• PubMed Clinical Queries
• Creating MyNCBI account

Date: Thursday, March 4th, 2021

Time: 12pm-1pm

Virtually via zoom

Go here to Register.

How to Fund Your Research: PIVOT Database

Pivot is a database of funding opportunities from government and other sources. It helps you to find new avenues of funding opportunities across the globe.

• Creating your profile in Pivot
• Searching for different types of funding
• Tracking, saving and sharing results

Date: Thursday, February  25th, 2021

Time: 12pm-1pm

Virtually via zoom

Online Scholarly Communications 

Presented by Jacob White 

Tuesday, December 1, 2020 

12-1pm via Blackboard Collaborate 

Expand your reach and communicate your impact with easy to use digital tools 

The internet has opened a new world of scholarly communications, with preprint servers, permanent identifiers, altmetrics, and social media.  

• Sign up for an ORCiD and Google Scholar Profile (both no cost) 

• Explore the history and future of research impact measurement  

Blackboard Collaborate link: https://tinyurl.com/yyykv6yk 

Cochrane and Web of Science  

Presented by Brenda Linares and Prasanna Vaduvathiriyan 

Tuesday, November 17, 2020 

12-1pm via Blackboard Collaborate 

Continue your exploration of library resources beyond MEDLINE and CINAHL  

Learn about two of the most influential organizations in health sciences research. Explore their core resources, learn a little about their history, and understand the value they provide to scientists, clinicians, funders and governments worldwide.  

• A whirlwind tour of  

• Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 

• Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) 

• Web of Science 

• Journal Citation Reports 

Blackboard Collaborate link: https://tinyurl.com/yyykv6yk 

Endnote for Advanced Users 

Presented by Prasanna Vaduvathiriyan 

Monday November 2, 2020

12-1pm via Blackboard Collaborate 

Go beyond the basics with this advanced Endnote Workshop 

• Import PDFs into your library 

• Remove duplicate references  

• Add specific journal citation output styles 

• Create an Endnote account and log into Endnote Online 

You can see the recording of this class by log-in at the link below:

Blackboard Collaborate link: https://tinyurl.com/yyykv6yk 

Beyond MEDLINE and EMBASE: Research Databases via EBSCO 

Presented by Brenda Linares and Prasanna Vaduvathiriyan 

Wednesday, October 21, 2020, 12-1 pm 

Via Blackboard Collaborate 

Take a tour of the research databases available at KUMC through EBSCO  

Dykes Library subscribes to a number of specialized databases through EBSCO, such as ERIC, AgeLine, PsycInfo, SportDiscus, and Global Health. These resources quickly connect researchers to the literature in their respective fields. 

• Familiarize with the EBSCO user interface 

• Identify the content and coverage of KUMC’s EBSCO databases 

• Practice various search techniques using keywords and controlled vocabularies  

You can see the recording of the class by log-in at the link below:

Blackboard Collaborate link: https://tinyurl.com/yyykv6yk 

Advanced Searching: Ovid MEDLINE and EMBASE 

Presented by Prasanna Vaduvathiriyan and Jacob White 

Tuesday, September 29, 2020, 12 - 1 PM

Via Blackboard Collaborate 

Finding evidence in Ovid MEDLINE and Embase.com  

Dykes Library has recently acquired two gold-standard health information discovery resources to encourage and empower researchers conducting advanced literature reviews. 

• Identify the content and coverage of Ovid MEDLINE and Embase.com 

• Practice advanced search techniques with field codes and controlled vocabularies 

• Focus or broaden queries with truncation and adjacency  

Blackboard Collaborate link: https://tinyurl.com/yyykv6yk 

You can see the recording of the class by log-in at the link below:

Endnote for Beginners 

Presented by Prasanna Vaduvathiriyan and Brenda Linares 

Wednesday, September 2, 2020, 12 – 1 pm 

Via Blackboard Collaborate

Save hours on your next manuscript by using EndNote   

Endnote empowers researchers to manage their own reference library and easily cite references during the writing process. This session will demonstrate how to: 

• Create an EndNote Library 

• Export references to EndNote 

• Organize references in groups 

• Cite sources in your paper with a touch of a button 

Blackboard Collaborate link: https://tinyurl.com/yyykv6yk  

You can see the recording of the class by log-in at the link below:

This library workshop is available upon request for groups of 5 or more. Contact us at dykesresearch@kumc.edu . 

PubMed Refresh 

Presented by Brenda Linares, Prasanna Vaduvathiriyan, and Jacob White 

Tuesday, August 25, 2020, 12 -1 pm 

Town Hall style discussion of the new PubMed website  

In September the National Library of Medicine will retire the “legacy” PubMed. Take a tour of the new PubMed website, and share comments and concerns with your librarians. 

• Use new features and search functions  

• Export and save your search results 

• Create a MyNCBI account and search alert 

• Discuss changes in breakout rooms  

Blackboard Collaborate link: https://tinyurl.com/yyykv6yk 

Zoom link: https://tinyurl.com/yxfod67f  

This library workshop is available upon request for groups of 5 or more. Contact us at dykesresearch@kumc.edu .