Skip to main content

Dykes Library Classes and Workshops

List and Description of Classes

Advanced Searching: Ovid MEDLINE and EMBASE

Advanced Searching: Ovid MEDLINE and EMBASE 

Presented by Prasanna Vaduvathiriyan and Jacob White 

Tuesday, September 29, 2020, 12 - 1 PM

Via Blackboard Collaborate 

Finding evidence in Ovid MEDLINE and Embase.com  

Dykes Library has recently acquired two gold-standard health information discovery resources to encourage and empower researchers conducting advanced literature reviews. 

  • Identify the content and coverage of Ovid MEDLINE and Embase.com 

  • Practice advanced search techniques with field codes and controlled vocabularies 

  • Focus or broaden queries with truncation and adjacency  

Blackboard Collaborate link: https://tinyurl.com/yyykv6yk 

Beyond MEDLINE and EMBASE: Research Databases via EBSCO

Beyond MEDLINE and EMBASE: Research Databases via EBSCO 

Presented by Brenda Linares and Prasanna Vaduvathiriyan 

Wednesday, October 21, 2020, 12-1 pm 

Via Blackboard Collaborate 

Take a tour of the research databases available at KUMC through EBSCO  

Dykes Library subscribes to a number of specialized databases through EBSCO, such as ERIC, AgeLine, PsycInfo, SportDiscus, and Global Health. These resources quickly connect researchers to the literature in their respective fields. 

  • Familiarize with the EBSCO user interface 

  • Identify the content and coverage of KUMC’s EBSCO databases 

  • Practice various search techniques using keywords and controlled vocabularies  

Blackboard Collaborate link: https://tinyurl.com/yyykv6yk 

Endnote for Advance users

Endnote for Advanced Users 

Presented by Prasanna Vaduvathiriyan and Jacob White 

Monday, November 2, 2020 

12-1pm via Blackboard Collaborate 

Go beyond the basics with this advanced Endnote Workshop 

  • Import PDFs into your library 

  • Remove duplicate references  

  • Add specific journal citation output styles 

  • Create an Endnote account and log into Endnote Online 

Blackboard Collaborate link: https://tinyurl.com/yyykv6yk 

Cochrane and Web of Science

Cochrane and Web of Science  

Presented by Brenda Linares and Prasanna Vaduvathiriyan 

Tuesday, November 17, 2020 

12-1pm via Blackboard Collaborate 

Continue your exploration of library resources beyond MEDLINE and CINAHL  

Learn about two of the most influential organizations in health sciences research. Explore their core resources, learn a little about their history, and understand the value they provide to scientists, clinicians, funders and governments worldwide.  

  • A whirlwind tour of  

  • Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 

  • Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) 

  • Web of Science 

  • Journal Citation Reports 

Blackboard Collaborate link: https://tinyurl.com/yyykv6yk 

Online Scholarly Communications

Online Scholarly Communications 

Presented by Jacob White 

Tuesday, December 1, 2020 

12-1pm via Blackboard Collaborate 

Expand your reach and communicate your impact with easy to use digital tools 

The internet has opened a new world of scholarly communications, with preprint servers, permanent identifiers, altmetrics, and social media.  

  • Sign up for an ORCiD and Google Scholar Profile (both no cost) 

  • Explore the history and future of research impact measurement  

Blackboard Collaborate link: https://tinyurl.com/yyykv6yk 

Evaluation

How helpful to you is this session?
Extremely helpful: 0 votes (0%)
Somewhat helpful: 0 votes (0%)
I already know this: 0 votes (0%)
Not helpful: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 0
I would have liked to learn more about:
Total Votes: 0
Comments/Suggestions for instructor:
Total Votes: 0
What school/ department are you affiliated with?
SOM: 0 votes (0%)
SHP: 0 votes (0%)
SON: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 0