Showing 1 of 1 Results

A.R. Dykes Library Blog

Integrative Health and Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM) Resources

07/31/2024

Prasanna Vaduvathiriyan, AHIP

Integrative Medicine is a comprehensive approach that combines complementary therapies and traditional medicine in patient care. This post discusses the federal agency that oversees research on the topic, and provides links to relevant research sources.

Medicine

Subjects

Medicine

Intellectual Freedom

Censorship

Banned Books

Content and Access

Law

Scholarly Writing and Communications

Research Support

Publishing

School of Medicine

Recent Posts

Library Research Updates - What's New in Medical Subject Headings?

Recently, we are observing an exponential growth in the production of scientific literature. While this has benefited us gaining new knowledge in education and healthcare, it also makes it difficult for us to locate the best information on a topic. When conducting literature searches for finding scientific studies, using National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) thesaurus is crucial. Searching with MeSH could add value to your literature searching skills and increase precision to the search results.What is MeSH? MeSH are the official vocabulary that describe the subject content of an article in Medline. It branches out from broader to narrower terms that are arranged in a hierarchical order. There could be typically 5-12 vocabularies assigned to articles that are indexed in PubMed (Medline).Where can you find MeSH?On the Entrez MeSH database; it is also available at the bottom of PubMed homepage that allows to build searches.Ovid Medline database, Clinical Trials.gov, and Cochrane libraryDirectly from NLM’s standalone MeSH Browser to find the vocabularies.What’s new about MeSH?NLM ensures accuracy of MeSH with annual revisions and updates. In 2025, there are interesting expansions, additions, and deletions that might help you to improve the research. Below are some examplesMeSH Tutorials Introduction to MeSHFinding keywords for publications Have a suggestion to improve the subject headings and/or vocabularies? Write to NLM help desk. Want to discuss and learn more? Connect with one of the research librarians ...

IMLS Benefits to Kansas and KUMC

The Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) is the sole source of federal funding for public and state libraries such as the State of Kansas Library and provides funding for resources, computer/wi-fi accessibility, and interlibrary loan services that all Kansans may access free of charge. For a fact sheet on how the IMLS funding benefits Kansas, click here.Through its IMLS funding the State of Kansas Library provides all KUMC library users access to a number of EBSCO research databases, including:Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window GreenFILE This link opens in a new windo Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition The elimination of the IMLS would remove the financial support provided to the State of Kansas that mitigates the cost of research databases, and could result in the removal of continued free access to these databases for all Kansans and KUMC library users. For more information on the IMLS and its positive impacts, click this link to learn more....

Community Resources to Support Survivors of Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault

April is Sexual Assault Awareness Month. In observation, KUMC is holding several events throughout the month. After attending one of these events, the library has added two of the local organizations to an online resource guide that includes social and public services. These two organizations that support those affected by domestic violence and/or sexual assault are MOCSA (Metropolitan Organization Countering Sexual Assault) and Rose Brooks. You can find out more of the great work they do by continuing to their websites. On the resource guide, you can find a PDF titled “Community Resources Guide”, curated by library specialists, that contains a broad range of community resources in the Kansas City area.Doing a simple internet search on domestic violence, sexual assault, or virtually any other topic can result in an overabundance of results, which can be very overwhelming. KUMC’s library guides exist to help users focus on trusted websites, data, and resources that will help them in their research and educational endeavors, and KUMC librarians spend a good deal of time updating an curating reliable information and resources. So, next time you are inundated by a large number of so-so search results or want to save some time by getting directly to quality resources, check the library guides developed by your librarians or reach out to us by text, chat, or email!...

Authorship Practices to Avoid

The pressure to publish is an all too familiar feeling in academia. But authorship is a complicated subject. Who should be included as an author? What about publication requirements related to authorship? And ethical considerations? When putting together a manuscript for submission, it’s important to consider who contributed what to the materials in the manuscript. While there are different authorship standards that academic journals refer to, such as the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) in health sciences, most governing bodies agree that the minimum requirement for authorship is: Substantial contributions to the work AND Accountability for the work that was done and its presentation in publication. Those individuals who are included as authors should be active contributors to the work and how it is presented for publication. Be sure to check the author guidelines for the journal you are submitting. In some spaces, the Contributor Role Taxonomy (CRediT) is used to describe each person’s contributions to the research outputs. CRediT defines fourteen specific types of contributor roles. If someone has contributed to the project but has not done enough to be an author, acknowledgment of the work is important. But there are certain types of authorship that should be avoided Ghost Authorship Ghost authorship or the practice of not naming someone as an author nor acknowledging their work who has significantly contributed to the research is wrong. Contributions should be acknowledged appropriately. Guest Authorship It may be tempting to add a “big name” as an author with the hope that including them will increase your chances of getting published. This is referred to as “guest authorship” and is another type of authorship to avoid. Gift Authorship Authorship should also not be bestowed as currency. Naming someone as an author as a favor when that person has not contributed significantly to the research is called “gift authorship” and is another practice to avoid. If you are interested in learning more about guidance for who should be included as an author and best practices to use when working on scholarly outputs, come join us for the ASCEND webinar on March 26th. We will talk about what it means to be an author, best practices, and ethical issues involved. ASCEND: The Roles and Responsibilities of Authorship: Best Practices and Guidelines Wednesday, March 26, 2025, 11am – 12pm Academic authorship status entails both privilege and responsibility on the labor and quality of scholarly work. It is important for developing and established scholars and researchers to understand what it means to be an author, best practices for discussing authorship status with colleagues, and ethical issues involved with authorship status. Join A.R. Dykes Research and Learning Librarians Prasanna Vaduvathiriyan and Perry Weidling as they discuss the definitions of authorship, following best practices of assigning authorship, and how to communicate with others about appropriate status and credit on academic publications. ...

Except where otherwise noted, this website is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0