Physical Therapy Research Guide
Biomedical Librarian
https://orcid.org/0000-0002-1680-0518Primary Literature & Research Articles
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPremier health sciences database of peer-reviewed biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Contains more than 30 million citations with author abstracts for 80%. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Use this non-proxied link to access your PubMed MyNCBI Account:
PubMed MyNCBI Login
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowCINAHL Complete is the worlds most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,400 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowDatabase compiled by the American Psychological Association contains summaries of journal literature, dissertations and technical reports in psychology and related disciplines.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary indexes of citation data from thousands of scholarly journals.
Database includes:
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowContains full-text and citation information on the following sports-related topics: exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training techniques, coaching, physical education, physical fitness, active living, recreation, history, facilities and equipment. Includes citations to books, conference proceedings, dissertations, reports, journal articles; and an extensive microform collection, the bulk of which is from the University of Oregon microfiche collection of North American Dissertations on Sport and Physical Education, dating back to 1949. (Restricted to 8 simultaneous users.)
- AgeLine This link opens in a new windowThis database focuses exclusively on issues of aging and the population of people aged 50 years and older. Updated on a weekly basis, AgeLine is the premier online resource for social gerontology research.
- Nursing and Allied Health Source (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source™ provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This versatile database is designed to meet the needs of researchers at healthcare facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions. ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides abstracting and indexing for more than 850 titles, with over 715 titles in full-text, plus more than 12,000 full text dissertations representing the most rigorous scholarship in nursing and related fields.
Clinical Evidence
- PubMed Clinical QueriesResults of searches on this page are limited to specific clinical research areas: therapy, systematic reviews, and genetics. For comprehensive searches, use PubMed directly.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases including Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.
- PEDroPEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database, a free database of over 42,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible.
Point of Care Information
- Clinical Key - Clinical OverviewsProvides quick access to current comprehensive information on medical conditions and is organized by key information: Synopsis, Diagnosis. Treatment, Complications, and Screening and Prevention. Clinical Overviews is included in the ClinicalKey mobile app. See the Mobile Apps research guide for instructions on obtaining KUMC access.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowComprehensive evidence-based clinical information resource available to clinicians online. It is intended to give clinicians the concise, practical answers at the point of care.
