Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Healthcare Classifications and Terminologies

About ICD

The International Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems (ICD) is used around the world for collecting, classifying and presenting mortality statistics. The revision of the ICD currently in use is the International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems 10th Revision (ICD-10).

In the U.S. ICD-10 was implemented for mortality coding and classification from death certificates in 1999. The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) developed a Clinical Modification (ICD-10-CM) for medical diagnoses based on WHO’s ICD-10 and Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) developed a new Procedure Coding System (ICD-10-PCS) for inpatient procedures. ICD-10-CM replaced ICD-9-CM, volumes 1 and 2, and ICD-10-PCS replaced ICD-9-CM, volume 3 effective with discharges and services performed on or after October 1, 2015.

At the May 2019 World Health Assembly Member States adopted ICD-11, and Member States will start reporting using ICD-11 January 1, 2022.  A version of this ICD-11 was released on June 18, 2018 to allow Member States to prepare for implementation and it can be accessed on the WHO ICD website.

Learn about the importance of classification and terminology in this short video.

Note: this is a look into the future of the World Health Organization’s International Classification of Disease (ICD).

Additional Resources on ICD

View these links for more on ICD.