A scholarly resource that contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over 100 journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
AccessEmergency Medicine helps meet the immediate needs of the emergency department (ED). Updated regularly, this comprehensive online emergency medicine resource provides quick diagnosis and treatment answers for a broad spectrum of complaints encountered in the ED.
Provides complete references and services for physicians, students, and health professionals who need immediate access to authoritative and current medical data. With the full text, graphics, images and illustrations of the most recent editions of world-class medical references.
AccessNeurology offers a new approach to neurology reference, research, and curricular instruction. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online neurology resource covers the entire spectrum of neurology from the basics to specialty-specific content.
AccessPhysiotherapy supports the study, instruction, and practice of physical therapy with groundbreaking content. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online physiotherapy resource integrates leading physical therapy textbooks, procedure and exercise videos, image galleries, self-assessment tools, and a unique cadaver dissection tool optimized for viewing on any device.
This database focuses exclusively on issues of aging and the population of people aged 50 years and older. Updated on a weekly basis, AgeLine is the premier online resource for social gerontology research.
Alt HealthWatch focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. This database features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990.
An important resource for students, educators, researchers and general readers, Applied Science & Technology Index includes indexing of nearly 800 periodicals dating back to 1983, including over 480 peer-reviewed journals.
Art Full Text is a comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations. Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
Open access to original peer-reviewed biomedical research. All articles published are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication.
A popular business research database, featuring the full text for more than 2,100 publications, including the Harvard Business Review. Full Text and Searchable Cited Reference coverage dates vary by journal.
CDC Wide-ranging ONline Data for Epidemiologic Research (CDC WONDER) is a web application that makes many health-related data sets available to the worldwide public health community.
CINAHL Complete is the worlds most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,400 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.
ClinicalTrials is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.
ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine that supports clinical decisions by making it easier to find and apply relevant knowledge. ClinicalKey drives better care by delivering fast, concise answers when every second counts, and deep access to evidence whenever, wherever you need it.
To download eBook chapters, you must first register for a personal account on ClinicalKey. ClinicalKey does not provide PDFs for Book titles with the specialty designation of "medical education."
Consumer Health Complete is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. Consumer Health Complete provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. In addition, Consumer Health Complete includes the Clinical Reference System and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs. The database is updated on a weekly basis.
A web-based tool that will help you through the process of screening your references, data extraction, and keeping track of you work. It is particularly useful for researchers conducting a systematic review, meta-analysis or clinical guideline.
- A separate user account from your normal KUMC login will be necessary to access Covidence. To request a KUMC user account for Covidence, Click Here.
- For more information, consult our Covidence guide Click Here.
Citations and abstracts of dissertations and theses submitted by the University of Kansas and published in UMI's Dissertations Abstracts database, and full text of all KU dissertations and theses submitted after 1996.
Offers information about ingredients in more than two thousand selected brands of dietary supplements. It enables users to determine what ingredients are in specific brands and to compare ingredients in different brands. Information is also provided on the health benefits claimed by manufacturers. These claims by manufacturers have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. Companies may not market as dietary supplements any products that are intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. The Database can be searched by brand names, uses noted on product labels, specific active ingredients, and manufacturers.Warnings and Recalls from the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA), related to specific ingredients and supplement brands have also been provided.
Providing indexing and abstracts for hundreds of periodicals, books and yearbooks, Education Abstracts covers subjects including adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more.
Biomedical database with expanded coverage on drugs, pharmacology and medical devices. Includes abstracts from 7,000+ conferences and 2,900+ journals not covered by MEDLINE.
Since the first edition, the research literature on aging continues to expand rapidly, reflecting both the rising interest of the scientific community and also the needs of a growing older population. In the year 1900, persons over 65 years of age were the smallest portion of developed societies. Today they are emerging as the largest. Aging is a complex process of change involving influences of a biological, behavioral, social, and environmental nature, all of which are explored in the context of this encyclopedia. The second edition includes all new articles and wholly new coverage of topics that have seen research advances.
The EBSCO interface to the Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) database. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC is the largest education database in the world, including journal articles, research reports, teaching guides, conference papers, and books.
The ProQuest interface to the Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) database. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC is the largest education database in the world, including journal articles, research reports, teaching guides, conference papers, and books.
ERIC is an information system sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education that generates the U.S. national bibliographic database covering the literature of education. ERIC contains annotated references to nonjournal material issued in the monthly Resources in Education (RIE) and to journal articles issued in the monthly Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Some full text is available.
Search for residency and fellowship programs with FREIDA Online, the AMA Residency & Fellowship Database. FREIDA Online contains profiles of over 10,000 residency and fellowship programs, each accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.
Multidisciplinary by nature, GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Provides free digital resources of the highest quality that meet the needs of today's health sciences educators. HEAL promotes the preservation and exchange of useful educational assets while respecting ownership and privacy. HEAL enables educators across the country to efficiently search and retrieve teaching resources from a variety of sources.
An online database of health literacy measures. The site contains information about each measure, including their psychometric properties, based on a review of the peer-reviewed literature.
This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
This resource provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, and many more.
Provides access to full-text documents useful for providing health information and for health care decision making. Available publications include: clinical practice guidelines, quick-reference guides for clinicians, consumer health brochures, evidence reports and technology assessments.
Provides access to the nearly 60,000 images in the prints and photograph collection of the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). The collection includes portraits, pictures of institutions, caricatures, genre scenes, and graphic art in a variety of media, illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine.
Provides access to the digitized version of the printed Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General's Office as well as medieval Latin texts and medieval English texts.
Provides access to the world's largest archive of computer-based research and instructional data for the social sciences. While anyone may search the database, you must create an account using your KUMC email address to download data.
The definitive resource and reference work for crystallography. It comprises articles and tables of data relevant to crystallographic research and to applications of crystallographic methods in all sciences concerned with the structure and properties of materials. Emphasis is given to symmetry, diffraction methods and techniques of crystal structure determination, and the physical and chemical properties of crystals. Each volume also contains discussions of theory, practical explanations and examples, all of which are useful for teaching.
JCR aggregates citation data from over 7,500 scholarly and technical journals to provide an indicator of how frequently current researchers are using individual journals. This creates a unique perspective for journal evaluation and comparison.
Provides access to academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, on a single, integrated platform. Collections on JSTOR include the complete archival record of each journal. Coverage begins at the first volume and issue of the journal ever published, and extends up to a publication date usually set in the past three to five years.
Containing full text for more than 300 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals, this database is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
Created by librarians for librarians, this database provides cover-to-cover indexing of nearly 400 journals, including key library and information science periodicals. Library Literature & Information Science Index also includes chapters in collected works such as conference proceedings, library school theses and pamphlets. Coverage reaches as far back as 1980.
Provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Delivered via the EBSCOhost platform, LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals plus books, research reports, and proceedings.
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags.
The Medical Heritage Library is a "digital curation collaborative" between numerous leading medical libraries, including the August C. Long Health Science Library at Columbia University, the College of Physicians of Philadelphia, and the Wellcome Library, to name just a few. These libraries are working together on this remarkable collection that provides insight into the history of medicine in the United States and Great Britain.
Through the website's Content tab, visitors can browse hundreds of medical journals, pamphlets, and books dating back to the sixteenth century.
Researchers can also conduct a keyword Search in order to find relevant material within this extensive (and still growing) collection. Educators or the more casually interested visitors may want to simply start with the homepage, which highlights a variety of material from this collection as well as current exhibits and projects at participating libraries.
A unique collection of medical research and investigatory journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. This Spanish language database contains the complete table of contents and PDF full text for 130 peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish.
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
A consumer-level health information database from the National Library of Medicine. MEDLINEPlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 500 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
A fully searchable database with access to hundreds of plastic surgery books from renowned surgeons, journal archives, operative videos, cases, procedures, and dynamic board review.
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of these sites.
Cancer.gov is the central website for the National Cancer Institute (NCI), the U.S. governments principal agency for cancer research. NCI is mandated by U.S. law to disseminate information about cancer and cancer research. This website serves as an important means to achieving that mission.
NEJM Resident 360 provides support for coping with the pressures of resident life and equips you to take the next major step in your career.
Explore the educational features in Learning Lab, ways to connect with peers in Resident Lounge, and find career tips and guidance in Career.
Includes more than 1,000 full-text newspapers, providing more than 38 million full-text articles. The database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as the Christian Science Monitor, San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia) , The Times (UK), Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times (DC) and others.
Resources documenting global health events, including the 2014 Ebola Outbreak. The NLM will continue to develop, review, describe, and add content to the collection.
An Internet-based diet manual and professional practice manual for registered dietitian nutritionists; nutrition and dietetics technicians, registered; and allied health professionals. NCM gives you online access to evidence- and knowledge-based nutrition information that keeps you current and compliant. There is a seat limit on this resource, please always click Log Out when done using the manual
Provides easy access to all online federal government information on nutrition, including healthy eating, physical activity, and food safety. The website also links to information about nutrition and food assistance programs such as the Food Stamp Program, the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children, and the School Lunch and Breakfast programs and to federally supported research, reports, and brochures as well as funding opportunities in the federal government. Users can find information on healthy eating, the food guide pyramid, the dietary guidelines for Americans, dietary supplements, fitness and how to keep food safe.
Open-i service of the National Library of Medicine enables search of over 3.7 million images from PubMed Central; 7,470 chest x-rays with 3,955 radiology reports; 67,517 images from NLM History of Medicine collection; and 2,064 orthopedic illustrations.
Updated daily, MEDLINE on the Ovid platform offers novice and expert searchers access to the latest bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,600 biomedicine and life sciences journals. All citations in Ovid MEDLINE are included in PubMed. This database is simply a different search interface for the MEDLINE records only.
Professional practice manual for nutrition professionals working with the pediatric population. There is a seat limit on this resource, please always click Log Out when done using the manual
Access is provided by the KUMC Research Institute. Pivot helps faculty, researchers, and graduate students to find funding sources and upcoming conferences.
Provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.
ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics.
Full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group.
Full-text access to DSM-5-TR and other resources on psychiatric diagnosis, treatment, guidelines and the latest research published by the American Psychiatric Association.
Comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Database compiled by the American Psychological Association contains summaries of journal literature, dissertations and technical reports in psychology and related disciplines.
Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more. Supersedes ChemIDplus.
Premier health sciences database of peer-reviewed biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Contains more than 30 million citations with author abstracts for 80%. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Use this non-proxied link to access your PubMed MyNCBI Account: PubMed MyNCBI Login
Free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Database covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
The Web Edition integrates Antimicrobial Therapy, HIV/AIDS Therapy, and Hepatitis Therapy into a single searchable web site for maximum coverage and ease of use. With all the information you've come to expect from the print guides, it also includes greatly expanded digital-only content, and interactive calculators, algorithms, and tables.
Provides citation access to books and over 2,000 journals published by Elsevier in the following disciplines: science, technology, medicine, and social sciences. Full-text content is available to most of the journal titles 1995 to the present.
The database includes journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, substance database and dissertations covered in Chemical Abstracts. (Restricted to 6 simultaneous users.)
New users must first create an individual account:
1. Complete the new user registration.
2. Use only a "kumc.edu" email address.
3. Follow the instructions in the confirmation email message.
Contains full-text and citation information on the following sports-related topics: exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training techniques, coaching, physical education, physical fitness, active living, recreation, history, facilities and equipment. Includes citations to books, conference proceedings, dissertations, reports, journal articles; and an extensive microform collection, the bulk of which is from the University of Oregon microfiche collection of North American Dissertations on Sport and Physical Education, dating back to 1949. (Restricted to 8 simultaneous users.)
Provides online full-text access to most journal titles from 1997-2016 (except for a small number of titles which are current) and to books published from 2005-2011. Published content is predominantly in the sciences, medicine, technology, business and economics.
Contains full text for international and regional newspapers, EBSCO's collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
Trip (Turning Research Into Practice) is a clinical search engine for high-quality research evidence including systematic reviews, clinical guidelines, and regulatory guidance.
Note: Free site does not include certain Trip Pro features.
Comprehensive evidence-based clinical information resource available to clinicians online. It is intended to give clinicians the concise, practical answers at the point of care.
Current U.S. news content and archives back to the 1980s. Features top publications including Chicago Tribune, LA Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.
Provides complete references and services for physicians, students, and health professionals who need immediate access to authoritative and current medical data. With the full text, graphics, images and illustrations of the most recent editions of world-class medical references.
CINAHL Complete is the worlds most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,400 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.
ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine that supports clinical decisions by making it easier to find and apply relevant knowledge. ClinicalKey drives better care by delivering fast, concise answers when every second counts, and deep access to evidence whenever, wherever you need it.
To download eBook chapters, you must first register for a personal account on ClinicalKey. ClinicalKey does not provide PDFs for Book titles with the specialty designation of "medical education."
Biomedical database with expanded coverage on drugs, pharmacology and medical devices. Includes abstracts from 7,000+ conferences and 2,900+ journals not covered by MEDLINE.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
Updated daily, MEDLINE on the Ovid platform offers novice and expert searchers access to the latest bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,600 biomedicine and life sciences journals. All citations in Ovid MEDLINE are included in PubMed. This database is simply a different search interface for the MEDLINE records only.
Premier health sciences database of peer-reviewed biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Contains more than 30 million citations with author abstracts for 80%. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Use this non-proxied link to access your PubMed MyNCBI Account: PubMed MyNCBI Login
Comprehensive evidence-based clinical information resource available to clinicians online. It is intended to give clinicians the concise, practical answers at the point of care.
