This is the "Home" page of the "School of Nursing Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

School of Nursing Research Guide   Tags: nursing  

A guide for conducting nursing research at KUMC.
Last Updated: Oct 16, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.kumc.edu/nursing Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Julie Zimmerman
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Nursing Librarian
University of Kansas Medical Center
913-588-7443
Send Email
 

My health sciences library experience is . . .





 

I search for various levels of EBP . . .





 

You have 5 minutes to answer a clinical question. Which resource should you use?





 

I feel confident with my skills in PubMed, CINAHL and other databases ___% of the time.





 

I have no fear of being accused of plagiarism or copyright infringement.




 

The library provides clinical and scholarly resources that are otherwise not available to you . . .

 

When I use a database, I know its scope of content. I know how many items are included, what subjects are covered, what types of resources are included, the publisher's bias, etc.





 

I use Zotero, EndNote, Mendeley, or another citation management software programs . . .





 

My evidence-based practice searching skills are ready to be applied to patient care.

 

Nursing Databases

Nursing Research Databases

CINAHL
What Is It: broad selection of nursing and allied health citations
Key Features: links to full-text if available, email alerts available

PubMed
What Is It: searchable medical literature database covering selected international biomedical journals 
Information Provided: clinical and biomedical literature citations
Key Features: links to online full-text, clinical queries, email alerts are available

Access Medicine
What Is It:  online collection of medical reference books and tools
Key Features: includes drug guides, images, patient care, decision making tools, and patient education

Cochrane Library
What Is It: a collection of databases designed to provide evidence for decision making
Key Features: excellent resource for systematic reviews

Nursing & Allied Health Source
What Is It: database of nursing and allied health citations
Key Features: includes Joanna Briggs Institute evidence-based best practice information sheets, systematic reviews, and evidence summaries
*Available from the library homepage

MedlinePlus
What Is It: searchable full-text consumer level health information database
Key Features: encyclopedia, dictionaries, images, clinical trial information, and tutorials

TRIP: Turning Research into Practice
What It Is: searches a numerous evidence-based resources
Key Features: offers evidence-based medicine, image, and patient information searches

For a complete list, see Dykes Library databases 

 

Nursing Literature Search Check List


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip