Researching the Medical Education Literature
This guide lists tools and resources for medical education research.
Health Sciences Librarian
Peter Johnson
he/him/his
Contact:
Mailing Address:
A.R. Dykes Library
2100 W 39th Street,
Mail Stop 1050
Kansas City, KS 66160
A.R. Dykes Library
2100 W 39th Street,
Mail Stop 1050
Kansas City, KS 66160
913-588-5028
Subjects: Medicine, School of Medicine
Researching the Medical Education Literature
This guide lists resources for researching literature about medical education, including curriculum guides,interactive tutorials, and other learning objects. Begin with the research databases listed. ERIC and PsycINFO are excellent sources for assessment and measurement tools. The Searching PubMed tab includes short video tutorials, techniques and guides to enhance your research in PubMed.
Research Databases
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPremier health sciences database of peer-reviewed biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Contains more than 30 million citations with author abstracts for 80%. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Use this non-proxied link to access your PubMed MyNCBI Account:
PubMed MyNCBI Login
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowCINAHL Complete is the worlds most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,400 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.
- Nursing and Allied Health Source (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowOffers complete information from leading nursing and related publications, many with full text.
- ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThe ProQuest interface to the Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) database. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC is the largest education database in the world, including journal articles, research reports, teaching guides, conference papers, and books.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowDatabase compiled by the American Psychological Association contains summaries of journal literature, dissertations and technical reports in psychology and related disciplines.
Medical Education Journals
- Annotated Bibliography of Journals for Educational ScholarshipThis list of journals is created annually by the AAMC Medical Education Scholarship Research and Evaluation (MESRE) Section. Scroll down the screen to find the link to the PDF document.
