Skip to main content

Citation Management Tools

A guide helping researchers and students select and use citation management and reference generator software.

Zotero Overview

Features
  • Free bibliographic management program   
  • 300 MB free on-line storage
With Zotero you can:
  • Collect references from various databases, websites and catalogs
  • Organize references in collections and subcollections for managing large projects
  • Import and attach article PDFs, folders, images, video and audio files
  • Read, annotate, highlight and make notes
  • Write your papers using Microsoft Word or LiberOffice 
    • instantly insert in-text citations and bibliographies from 2500+ citation styles
    • create footnotes
  • Share and collaborate references with colleagues
Loading

Get Zotero 5.0 for Windows & Mac

 
Installing Zotero 5.0 and the Connector for your browser

Zotero's newer version, Zotero 5.0 works as a unified application for all browsers. Zotero will automatically detect the operating system in your computer (Mac or Windows) and the browser you are currently using. There are two steps involved in getting Zotero 5.0.

undefined

  Image represents installing Zotero 5.0 for Firefox in Mac

Step. 1. Downloading Zotero 5.0

a). Go to https://www.zotero.org/ and click on the red tab, Download now. Zotero will automatically detect the operating system you use, Windows or Mac.

b). Zotero file will be downloaded to your computer. (Zotero-5.0.4_setup.exe for Windows; Zotero-5.0.4.dmg for Mac). Double click and follow the prompts for completing the installation.

c). Zotero will appear on your desktop.

Step. 2. Installing Zotero connector for your browser

a). Zotero will recognize the browser you are using (Chrome, Safari, Firefox and Opera). Go to https://www.zotero.org/ and install the Connector for your browser.

b). Click on the link Zotero Connectors for other browsers if you also use other browsers ; select the browser and complete installing the Connector. 

c). Follow the prompts to (Allow) complete installing the Connector.

d). The Save to Zotero icon (paper, pdf or a folder) will appear on your browser menu bar.

Loading

Writing Papers with MS Word

undefined

Steps

  1. Open Microsoft Word and start typing your paper.
  2. Click on the Add Citation button to insert citations in the paper.          
  3. A box will appear for choosing the citation style you prefer.
  4. The Zotero tab will open. Search and select the reference you want to insert using Keep Source Sorted or select the Classic View to view the list of all Zotero citations. Select a citation and click Ok to insert.
  5. To create a bibliography, place your cursor where you like to insert bibliography choose Insert Bibliography.
  6. To finish your paper, choose Remove field codes and save your paper in a new name

undefined

Steps

  1. Open Microsoft Word and start typing your paper.
  2. Click on the Add/Edit Citation button to insert citations in the paper.          
  3. A box will appear for choosing the citation style you prefer.
  4. The Zotero tab will open. Search and select the reference you want to insert using Keep Source Sorted or select the Classic View to view the list of all Zotero citations. Select a citation and click Ok to insert.
  5. To create a bibliography, place your cursor where you like to insert bibliography choose Insert Bibliography.
  6. To finish your paper, choose Remove field codes and save your paper in a new name.

  Windows display the above similar icons in Word 2016                                  

Loading

Zotero Tutorials & Help

Loading