Skip to main content

Citation Management Tools

A guide helping researchers and students select and use citation management and reference generator software.

EndNote Features

EndNote Home

  • Free to KUMC students, faculty and staff (KUMC subscription)      
  • Web + desktop access (sync or solo)
  • Attach reference articles (PDF)
  • Manages up to 100,000 records
  • Allows up to 16 pages of notes
  • Collects abstracts and keywords with journal citations
  • Create in-text citations and bibliographies with Microsoft Word
  • Import PDF files, folders and MS Word citations
  • Available for iPhone and iPad
  • Unlimited online storage
  • Over 5,000 output styles
  • Output styles easy to edit

Downloading and Installing EndNote

KUMC faculty, staff and students may download the current version of EndNote via myKUMC:

  • Click Tools & Services
  • Select Technology
  • Scroll down and select Software & Apps
  • Select the appropriate EndNote file to download, i.e., Windows or Mac

KU Hospital Users: contact the Hospital Service Desk, HITS_ServiceDesk@kumc.edu or 913-588-4894

EndNote Training on YouTube

EndNote YouTube channel: short training videos, videos of classes, training calendar to register for online training.

Two methods of searching and downloading citations to EndNote are demonstrated in these videos.
Recommended Search Method: Go to a specific database, conduct your search, and download your citations into EndNote. 

Quick Introduction:
How to Use EndNote in 7 Minutes (Windows Version)
How to Use EndNote in 6 Minutes (Macintosh Version)

More detailed training, approximately 30 minutes:
EndNote on Windows: the Short Course
EndNote on Macintosh: the Short Course

You can also find video training for using the EndNote Online & the Desktop versions together.

EndNote Tips

Importing KU Library references to EndNote
Some of the different databases (JSTOR, EBSCO-Host, Pro-Quest, etc) have different methods for sending citation information to EndNote. Here's a collection of KU (Lawrence) databases that work with EndNote and step-by-step export instructions for each one. (Note to KUMC Users, this is a list of KU databases, we subscribe to a different set of databases. However, there are EndNote instructions here to several key KU/KUMC databases.)

Output Styles
Additional Output Styles for EndNote 
Over 5,000 styles are available for EndNote. If your EndNote download did not come with the style you need, check for it here.
Working with Output Styles 
A great, in-depth explanation of output styles from the University of Toledo

Filters
Additional Filters for EndNote
While EndNote installs with a set of filters (downloading formats) in place, there are several more that you can add manually. From this site, you can download all of them at once or choose specific filters or groups.

EndNote Filters and Instructions  This page from the Columbia University Libraries includes both the database and the information provider -- a fantastic and time-saving reference tool if you're trying to download just one specific filter and struggling to figure out which provider goes with database.

EndNote Support
EndNote KnowledgeBase 
EndNote FAQs and other questions. (Scroll to the bottom of the screen to search the Knowledgebase.)
Create an EndNote Web account 
As a KUMC EndNote user, you haved unlimited storage in your free EndNote Web account.
Online User Guide  The official guide from Thomson Reuters. Use Control+F to open search function.

You can also call  the vendor, Clarivate Analytics, tech support at 800-336-4474 (at the prompts dial 4, 1, 1).