Skip to main content

Mobile Apps

Health care apps for iPhones, iPads, and Android devices

Clinical Apps

Click the icon to be taken to the app website.

 

General Clinical Apps  

AccessMedicineProvides students, residents, clinicians, researchers, and all health professionals with access to more than textbooks including Harrison's, Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, and Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas.

KUMC users: Sign up for a MyAccess account. Once in AccessMedicine click on "University of Kansas Med Ctr" in the upper right corner - Click "Login or Create a Free Personal Account - Click "Don't have a MyAccess account?" - Fill out the "Create a MyAccess account" form - Click "Create account"

AHRQ ePSS- The Electronic Preventive Services Selector (ePSS) is a quick hands-on tool designed to help primary care clinicians identify the screening, counseling, and preventive medication services that are appropriate for their patients.

iOS | Android

Diagnosaurus 2.0- Diagnosaurus® is a valuable quick reference tool that contains over 1,000 differential diagnoses. Available for iOS and Android, this application helps healthcare professionals reach accurate diagnoses with speed and confidence at the point of care.  

iOS | Android

KUMC users: Diagnosaurus is available through AccessMedicine. Once in AccessMedicine click "Quick Reference" - Click DDx

Doctors ToolbagDeveloped by the BMJ Group and CEBMi Ltd., this app provides a fast and simple way to use the most effective rules in a busy clinical setting. (Available late 2014)

Epocrates- Depending on version, this resource includes drug monographs, health plan formularies, drug interaction calculator, pill identifier, and pictures, medical news, infectious disease guides, alternative medications, disease monographs, lab & diagnostic ests, ICD9 & CTP Codes, medical dictionary, and more.

Also available in FEE version. iOS | Android

First ConsultFirst Consult is featured point-of-care content found within ClinicalKey. In addition to providing access to First Consult’s point-of-care content, ClinicalKey provides online access to leading books, journals, and review articles. 

KUMC Users: Register on ClinicalKey and create a personal account before downloading the app.   Institutional Subscription paid for by KUMC.

Gas Guide- Gas Guide is a free medical resource that gives you quick and easy access to anesthesia information, operative safety checklists, and more.

iOS | Android

Guideline CentralChoose from thousands of medical guidelines representing all of the main clinical specialties and most well-known medical associations in the world. These are official society guidelines, condensed into a quick reference format that is current, practical and portable. ACC GUIDELINES Pocket Cards are available in both print and digital formats.

iOS | Android

Isabel- This validated medical app enables you to search for diagnoses by multiple symptoms, covering over 6,000 diseases.

iOS | Android
 

Attention! This app provides access to an existing online system. It is free to download, but you will be charged for a weekly, monthly, or annual subscription as an in-app purchase. You will be asked to register to access the system and will be able to select the subscription period at that point.

Medscape from WebMD- Medical reference tool from WebMD. Contains over 80 tables and protocols including workups, treatments, differential diagnoses and drug interactions.

iOS | Android

MobileMicromedexA group of mobile apps from Micromedex, the database of unbiased drug info that identifies ingredients for hundreds of thousands of commercial, pharmaceutical and biological substances.

KUMC users: Choose "Micromedex" from Clinical Reference Tools - Click grey "Micromedex 2.0" button - Click "mobileMicromedex - Follow instructions for "Internet Subscribers"

Skyscape Medical Resources- Skyscape offers Outlines in Clinical Medicine®, Archimedes™ - Medical Calculator, RxDrugs™: Drug Dosing Tool and MedAlert™ for free with the download of the mobile reader.

iOS | Android

UpToDate AnywhereWith an UpToDate® Anywhere or an individual subscription*, you can answer medical questions when and where they arise from a tablet or mobile device. Choose the solution that's right for you!

*KUMC users:  You can create an account to use the UpToDate app by visiting the database through your browser, clicking the “Log In / Register” button in the top right, and following the steps listed to register as a new user, setting up your own user name and password. You can then download their app from the Apple Store and you should then be able to use your created log in information. You may be required to register your account from a computer on campus so they’ll recognize your IP. Also, UpToDate will send you email reminders to verify your status as an affiliate on a monthly basis.

You must register for a username and password in order to gain access to the UpToDate mobile app for iOS, Android, or Windows 8 tablet devices. An email will be sent with instructions on how to get the app after you gave registered.

   
   

 

Lab Value Apps  

Lab CatalogUse the test catalog application to search and browse tests performed by Mayo Medical Laboratories. Test information includes clinical use and interpretation, specimen requirements, methodology, and coding. The test catalog will work offline, with updates occurring automatically when a network connection is available.

iOS (iPad) 

Lab Values ReferencesThis app is perfect for both academic and clinical settings, providing clear, concise coverage of 375 of the most commonly performed laboratory tests. Organized by body system and lab panels, and presented in a consistent format with normal findings, indications, test explanation, test results and clinical significance, as well as an overview of order of draw. 

iOS | Android

Medical Lab Tests- Rated #1 Lab Values Application by iMedicalApps.com: "I personally loved Medical Lab Tests. I would find it to be the most useful to me in the wards. It gives you the differentials for high and low lab values, and has a vast amount of high yield information. Medical Lab Tests + also available.

iOS | Android (Pocket Lab Values as substitute)

Quick LabRef- Quick LabRef for Android (Quick Clinical Laboratory Values Reference) provides quick look at the up-to-date information on the most commonly used clinical laboratory values and other useful relevant information such as lab data in Microbiology, Physiology / Pathophysiology, Toxicology and etc. Normal values reference are provided in both Conventional Units (CU) and, whenever available, in units of the “Sistème International” (SI).

Android (only)

Attention! As of January 01, 2014 developer is no longer providing technical support. Please accept this free app "as is" and "as available". Please read entire app description and disclaimer. Existing content update and adding new topics will be continued.