Health Statistics
Helpful resources for Kansas, Missouri, U.S. and International statistics.
How Do I Find Health Statistics?
In order to find articles that specifically deal with statistical health information, try searching the following keywords:
Epidemiology (used for finding disease incidence, prevalence, etc.)
Mortality (used for finding mortality statistics)
Statistics and Numerical Data (used to retrieve statistics on non-disease subjects)
Utilization (used to retrieve statistics on the use of equipment, programs, facilities, and services)
Questions to ask yourself:
- Authorship: Who created the data and what are their credentials?
- Content: Is the data accurate and were the right methodologies applied for the research question?
- Date: How current is the data?
- Peer-reviewed: Where was the data published? Has it been reveiwed?
Journal Literature Resources & Databases
- Global Health (including Archive) This link opens in a new windowA public health database with emphasis on international health, non-communicable diseases, nutrition, food safety, hygiene and more.
- National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care TechnologyHealthcare disparities refer to differences in access to or availability of facilities and services. Health status disparities refer to the variation in rates of disease occurrence and disabilities between socioeconomic and/or geographically defined population groups.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowCINAHL Complete is the worlds most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,400 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPremier health sciences database of peer-reviewed biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Contains more than 30 million citations with author abstracts for 80%. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Use this non-proxied link to access your PubMed MyNCBI Account:
PubMed MyNCBI Login
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary indexes of citation data from thousands of scholarly journals.
Database includes:
Find Full Text
Books/Journals: Search for a book or journal or topic in the box below
Articles: Search for a DOI or PMID of an article in the box below:
